## **Ecclesiastical Province**

Is a grouping of dioceses into a common area. There are currently four ecclesiastical provinces in Canada. They are (moving from east to west): Canada, Ontario, Rupert's Land and British Columbia and Yukon. Ecclesiastical provinces meet in provincial synods at regular intervals to transact business of common interest. The bishop in charge of an ecclesiastical province is called the Metropolitan Archbishop. The Metropolitan is elected by the provincial synod which is composed of bishops, clergy and lay delegates.